Tipping Points

A close overhead photo of eye liner pencils, lipstick tubes, and make-up brushes thrown together in a plastic box.

Like many of us, the last two years have eroded what remained of my ability to care about what other people think of me.  So I just put away all my makeup.

This is going to be a big old tip off if any readers weren’t sure where I stood on the gender spectrum. If you know me and you’re reading this, do whatever you want with the information. 

Curious?  Concerned? Indifferent? Nervous? 

So the fuck am I.

But I just put away my makeup.  This isn’t as big a step as for someone who was a real completist.  Having naturally good skin which I have maintained with sunblock and a tendency not to fuck with things, I have rarely used foundation.  In fact I’ve never contoured anything beyond a topographical map.  I have no serious attachment to any sort of skin care regime beyond washing my face with a soap-free gel when I shower, and using one basic lotion.

I am not young, (and you can read back through this blog to confirm this) and chasing the dragon of appearing young looks to me (sorry) like a fool’s game. Adherents to 18-step Korean systems, you do you, but my genes and my tendency to stay out of the sun mean I was never going to put any more time into my face than I do already. 

So I just put away my makeup.

Over the last few years I have invested less and less time in traditional feminine gender markers.  I don’t have a philosophical or even really logical reason for this.  But I look at dresses and I can’t remember why I liked wearing them.

Pretty dresses. Lovely things I’ve kept for years so I could lose weight and wear them again. I am sitting here right now thinking of what would make me put one of them on right now. My beloved saying “please wear this dress” would do it.  Or a costume.  But day to day?

I just put away my makeup.

Leave a comment